ArtsEmerson + Beth Morrison Projects

The Ouroboros Trilogy

September 10—17, 2016
Emerson Cutler Majestic Theatre

Buy Tickets


The endless cycle of life, death, and rebirth.

Official Description

An ouroboros, an ancient Greek icon depicting a serpent eating its own tail, has become symbolic of eternity. Created by Cerise Lim Jacobs, Ouroboros Trilogy is a cycle of three grand operas including the 2011 Pulitzer Prize-winning Madame White Snake, along with two World Premieres, Gilgamesh and Naga.

Together, this epic cycle of three grand opera, explores themes of life, death and rebirth. Each opera is a fully realized production, separately created by three living composers, all featuring libretto by Cerise Lim Jacobs. Naga (composed by Scott Wheeler) is the story of a young Monk who renounces everything to find nirvana, but is tempted to abandon the path when he encounters The White Snake. Madame White Snake (composed by Zhou Long) is the story of a demon who longs to become human to experience love. And Gilgamesh (composed by Paola Prestini) finds the half-demon son of Madame White Snake realizing his true power and being pushed into a position where he must choose between his family and happiness.

The operas will be shown separately, as well as in full day, seven-hour marathon events. Gala tickets to benefit Ouroboros Trilogy are also on sale for Opening Day September 10.


Emerson Cutler Majestic Theatre
219 Tremont Street, Boston

Photo: John Tlumacki